Wednesday, September 23, 2009

USATF NE presidents award

From the USATF NE website:


Two new board members elected Waltham MA, September 17

The 2009 USATF-NE annual meeting took time to review the year, look ahead, vote, and to honor several individuals on Thursday.

After opening with recognition of the Athlete of the Month winners, the business meeting followed. Individual and committee reports began the sessions. President Ken Robichaud then presented two "President's Awards" to a pair of deserving Daves. Dedicated track and field official Dave DeInnocentis of North Andover MA was the second ever recipient of the "Gerry Cantor Award" given for service to USATF-NE events. The Volunteer Award, renamed the "Marja Bakker Volunteer Award" by president Ken, was presented to past board member and all-around sport supporter Dave Dunham.

Elections for sports chairs and athlete representatives followed. There were exactly two nominations for the two vacant board positions, and with no further nominations, all positions were voted in by acclamation. Taking over the Youth Chair position is Larry Libow of Springfield and Y-Speed TC. The new athlete rep will be Caitlyn Clark of Sisu Project. A slate of 15 delegates was voted from 20 nominees.

A informative presentation on the D-tag timing system was made by Dave Camire of Yankee Timing, and the uncontroversial meeting closed with a discussion of the new selection process for the 2010 Grand Prix road race series.

From me:

I was totally taken by surprise on this and honored. Getting an award named for Marja really hit me. Marja was there all along the way during my time on the NE board and I miss her.


J.Fyffe said...

Again, congrats!

mueblerunner said...

Congratulations, David. Your efforts toward the sport of running are nonstop. You make me wanna say nanu nanu!

And the best honors are the ones that are least expected!

s p running said...

You deserve it, dd! Happy to hear they chose you

-- Goatie

DoubleJ said...

Congrats Dave...